Thursday, April 02, 2009

Old Post Office Plaza debuts this weekend

At 4:00 PM Friday, city leaders will dedicate the new Old Post Office Plaza. Festivities will continue throughout the weekend.

The Old Post Office Plaza will be the city's second major park/open space under private ownership and management, the other being Tower Grove Park.

Programming for the Old Post Office Plaza will be managed through the Partnership for Downtown St. Louis.

Note: Thanks to a reader for emailing a question re. the ownership and management of Tower Grove Park. Check the comments section for a clarification of the status.

1 comment:

Rick Bonasch said...

Clarification of Tower Grove Park management structure -

The Board of Commissioners of Tower Grove Park

Tower Grove Park is owned by the City of St. Louis and governed by a special Board of Commissioners appointed by the Missouri Supreme Court. The current commissioners are:

Anne C. Stupp, President
Cheryl D. S. Walker, Vice President
John Haffenreffer, Treasurer
Tim Hays, Honorary Vice President

Andrew N. Baur, Emeritus
Dennis G. Coleman, Emeritus
Robert J. Gaddy, Emeritus
Jane P. Gleason
R. Crosby Kemper III, Emeritus
Susan R. Lammert, Emeritus
Eldridge Lovelace, Emeritus
Eugene J. Mackey III, Emeritus
Thomas Purcell, Emeritus
Dr. Peter Raven
Michael R. Spotanski
Robert P. Stupp, Emeritus

John A. Karel, Park Director &
Secretary to the Board